Click to Home

Go To Search


Savannah's City government adopted a council / manager form of government in 1954.

The current City Council, which consists of the Mayor and eight Aldermen, levies taxes, enacts ordinances, adopts the annual budget, and appoints the City Manager.

The City Manager is responsible for carrying out the policies and programs established by Council, recommending the annual budget and work programs, appointing bureau and department heads, and exercising general supervision and control over all employees of the City.