Municipal Cemeteries

Of the nearly 80 cemeteries located in Chatham County, Georgia, the City of Savannah Cemeteries Division maintains five existing cemeteries which are owned and operated by the City of Savannah: Colonial Park, Laurel Grove North, Laurel Grove South, Bonaventure, and Greenwich. Each cemetery has a unique character and is historically-significant to the City of Savannah.

The main office of the Cemeteries Division is located in Bonaventure Cemetery and a satellite office is located in Laurel Grove North. The divison is responsible for maintaining the grounds, selling interment rights, providing interment services, maintaining vital records, preserving the historical and cultural significance and coordinating all activities within the cemeteries.

The phrase "selling interment rights" was historically referred to as selling cemetery lots. However, cemeteries do not generally sell real estate, just the rights to be interred on it.